Good Hair Day Blog

Community Awards

Tuesday May 13, 2014, 9:37 am

“Congratulations! The Xi Theta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated has selected you to be honored as the “Media Award” Recipient for 2014.

Since 1991, Xi Theta Omega Chapter has presented the “Media Award”. It is given to a person in the media – newspaper, radio, television, Internet – who has been instrumental in promoting Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority and/or a positive image of African-Americans in the community.

Past honorees of the award include Jasmine Brazile, Nada Ruddock and Carisma Ramsey from NBC 5, Dionne Anglin, Rickey Smiley and Debbie Denman. Through your positive impact within the community, you have exhibited excellence and we are honored to present you with this award.”

A special thanks to the Xi Theta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated for honoring me with the Media Award. In my speech, I shared that it’s important to always represent yourself and your business in a positive light when in the media… no matter the platform. So whether it’s social media, television, radio or print, what you present is your legacy and your brand…. good or bad! Use your gifts to be a blessing to others and give back to the community! Thanks to my family and friends who came out to support! The other community award recipients were Percy Bryant, African American Business Leader of Excellence, and Electra Kitchen, Woman of the Year.

Click here to see more photos!